Alternative Transportation

This week, I started riding my bike to the bus stop. It’s dark–and on a couple of days, foggy. Actually the fog was pretty thick on my first early-morning ride, so I feel intrepid.

One day, as I was chaining up the bike (my least favorite part of the endeavor; in addition to the fact that this is an inherently cumbersome process, the bike racks are almost entirely without lighting, which makes me question Metro’s commitment to bike commuters. How is it convenient or secure if the bike racks are in the dark? But I digress), I noticed that a Commuter Express bus stops across the street.

A little investigation prompted both of us to try that line. Commuter Express is run by the City of Los Angeles Department of Transportation, while Metro is run by the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transit Authority. Therefore my existing pass does not work on Commuter Express.

Also, Commuter Express is slightly more expensive, on a per-trip basis, than Metro. However, the route for our particular line is much more direct than the method I’ve been using, and cuts about 45 minutes off my trip home. Express, indeed!

The end result is that both of us are going to buy passes for Commuter Express next quarter; work offers discounted passes for both systems, and there is less of a difference in cost that way.

So the big question is this: since I have a couple of weeks left on my existing Metro pass, do I use that for the duration and make the most of my pre-paid access? Or do I ride Commuter Express and double up on fares while making the most of my time at home?

2 thoughts on “Alternative Transportation

Leave a Reply

