Commuting (in part) by Bike

Over the weekend, we did a bit of bike shopping in our old part of town (hey, that’s where they have bike shops we know). We wound up at Wheel World, and I am now the proud owner of an Electra Townie. It has hand brakes (which I prefer) and gears (which I find useful, even on the flat surfaces I’m likely to bike). And I can put my feet down without getting off of the seat, which greatly reduces my fear of stopping.

John spent last night hunting down extra lights for me, and I should now be pretty visible to cars–plus I can see where I’m going. This was very useful this morning, when it was not just dark, but foggy as well. This morning made me extra-happy that my route is almost entirely on a dedicated bike path.

Interestingly, two of the three bike racks at my station were already full. At 6:30 in the morning. I took the third and chained up the bike (wheels to frame, frame to bike rack). So hopefully it will be there when I get off the bus tonight. The lights are in my backpack, so I should have plenty of illumination either way.

And I really feel like I’ve earned my Cheerios.

Leave a Reply

